Colourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Tulle

Ahh, nothing says “Fall is here!” better than brown lipstick; the matte-r the better. This was also a trend throughout the 90’s, but let’s leave that cringe-worthy memory out of it. If you’re truly wearing makeup by season, this is when you should bust out nude and neutral shades, with the occasional dark lippie. Leave your pastel pinks and bold oranges behind, it’s autumn’s time to shine!

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Tulle Review

Colourpop’s Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick in Tulle is described as a dusty mauve burgundy, and I believe this is mostly accurate. Tulle is definitely more burgundy on me, I’d almost describe it as a bordeaux kind of color. There are some red undertones, but the dusty element makes it a lovely shade of brown. As always, lipstick never looks the same on everyone. The paler you are, the darker this will look…as in my case. Let’s compare: here’s Colourpop’s picture of Tulle side-by-side with a swatch on my arm.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Tulle ReviewColourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Tulle Review

Despite the slight lighting difference, you can already tell the difference in color. I must admit, I was a bit hesitant about wearing this shade as it looks really dark on my lily-white skin. Plus applying darker shades of lipstick is a million times harder, as any mistake becomes glaringly obvious! After a pretty shaky application (hey, I’m still working on my liquid lipstick game) and a few seconds of drying, I was ready for the day. Tulle lasted around 6-7 hours before needing a touch-up, and didn’t budge outside my lip lines at all. This formula is drying, I suggest a lip scrub and non-glossy lip balm before use. EOS works really well as a base for these lipsticks. The longer I wore Tulle, the more I fell in love with it.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Tulle ReviewColourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Tulle Review

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Tulle ReviewColourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Tulle Review

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lipstick in Tulle ReviewColourpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick in Tulle Review

Top to Bottom: Bumble, Tulle, Avenue

Tulle has officially solidified a spot among my go-to lipsticks; it’s such a beautiful color with that classic matte finish. This shade will flatter any complexion, and now is the perfect time to buy! Colourpop is having a Labor Day Weekend deal: $5 off $40, $10 off $60, $15 off 80, etc. They also just released their fall collection, there are some great eyeshadows available. Everything is reasonably priced, these lipsticks are $6 each and can be purchased here. Have you tried any of these lovely lipsticks? What shades are your favorites? 🙂

Leave a Reply

