Lush Cosmetics Lord of Misrule Shower Cream

Out of Lush’s entire Halloween line-up, the most anticipated item was the fabled Lord of Misrule Shower Cream. It first debuted at the new Lush Oxford Street in April, and sent shockwaves through the Lush community. In fact, it created such a frenzy that customers in the US were actually paying UK citizens extra to buy and ship them a bottle! The ever-gracious Lush decided to throw all the lushies a bone and make it available worldwide as a Halloween product. While the bath bomb is staying around for Christmas, it appears this shower cream isn’t. Get it while you can!

Lush Cosmetics Lord of Misrule Shower Cream ReviewLush Cosmetics Lord of Misrule Shower Cream Review

Lord of Misrule is a spicy, slightly sweet fragrance that has developed a cult following. Black pepper, patchouli, and vanilla absolute combine to create this special seasonal scent. To be honest, I’ve never really liked Lord of Misrule. I find it too spicy, and the vanilla component gives me a headache. When I bought the new Halloween range, I begrudgingly decided to try this one out. For you, my lovely readers! While I was going into this review thinking that I would be writing about how much this scent annoyed me, I was pleasantly surprised. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still not too keen on Lord of Misrule, but this shower cream was way better than what I expected.

First of all, the color and consistency. Look how beautiful this is! It’s a deep, true green with some shimmer, and is completely opaque. Out of all the shower gels and creams, this one is a stunner.

Lush Cosmetics Lord of Misrule Shower Cream ReviewLush Cosmetics Lord of Misrule Shower Cream Review

Second, the scent. This shower cream definitely doesn’t disappoint in this department for the LoM lovers, as the fragrance is very strong. That spicy-sweetness really does pack a punch! Just sniffing it from the bottle made me woozy. No matter, I was still determined to give it a try.

Lush Cosmetics Lord of Misrule Shower Cream Review

How cute! Love the hidden messages under the stickers. ❤

Third point of interest, performance. Since this is a shower cream, not a gel, it has a higher moisturizing content than a gel. Instead of creating a foamy lather when used, it creates a slick, slightly oily lather. As unappealing as that sounds, it’s actually beneficial. When washed off, your skin is left extremely soft and hydrated. What’s even better, at least in my opinion, is that the potency of the shower cream diffuses into a softer scent, one more manageable for those with sensitive noses. That powerful pepper mellows into a nice, slightly spicy fragrance; one that lasts all day. 6 hours after I used this shower cream, I could still smell the fragrance on my skin. Impressive!

Lush Cosmetics Lord of Misrule Shower Cream ReviewLush Cosmetics Lord of Misrule Shower Cream Review

Before: Slick, green lather        After: Super soft hands!

While I do find this product enjoyable and perfect for the holidays, I do not think I will be purchasing a bigger bottle this year. It’s a super eerie green color and has a scent that lasts for days; it’s just too bad that I’m not crazy about the fragrance. If you love Lord of Misrule or any spicy-patchouli scents, do not even hesitate to buy this. It will fulfill all of your wishes, as this is a product that dreams are made of. You can purchase a bottle at your local store, or here in the US and here in the UK. How do you feel about Lord of Misrule products? Too strong, or just right? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

